Children in care are getting ever better grades at school

Ashley John-Baptiste’s moving piece (“Foster children need more than cash”, Comment) struck a real chord with me. Having grown up with more than 80 foster children, I saw many struggle with the same challenges that he describes. This is what led me into politics and why I have made it my priority to improve the prospects of children in care.

I agree that better support in schools is vital so I have been delighted to introduce pupil premium plus, worth £1,900 per child, and to give virtual school heads, who champion the education of children in care in that area, responsibility for ensuring this money is well spent. We have changed the law so that every council has to appoint a virtual school head. These changes are beginning to have an impact.

Read more:

Leave a Reply

