Foster Care…The First Placement

This is about my personal experience with my first foster kiddo, the issues I had & a bit of what you can expect, well not really, my first kiddo was off the charts. Be warned I’m sarcastic, have developed a painfully odd sense of humor about all of this & even in a bad situation I find something funny. You were warned…

After 16 months of classes, background checks, physicals, home search & intrusive questions about my sex life that for some reason needed to be outlined all the way back to high school…I was somehow deemed fit enough to not lose, maim, or accidentally kill a child left in my care. My license came in the mail & our home was officially opened….Yay…crickets…now what? Now you wait!

Read more:

2 thoughts on “Foster Care…The First Placement

  1. Reblogged this on Love Hurts… and commented:
    I read this story a few days ago and have not been able to stop thinking about it. For those of you who have fostered or adopted I am sure you will be able to relate. If you are like me and are interested in adoption and trying to find out as much as you can – it is a funny, scary and hopeful story about fostering and adopting with a mostly happy ending.

    The thing that I have been thinking about mostly though, is how as adults we have power to shape the lives and reality of other human beings. I have been thinking about the main character in this story, foster boy #1, and how crazy his perception of reality is. And I have been thinking about how that is sometimes how I see myself. Everything I think and feel and know and reason out makes perfect sense to me – but does it to everyone else? Sometimes I wonder if the people around me think I need brain surgery and a psych ward admission…

    • It is a funny, scary and hopeful story with a mostly happy ending. Agreed.

      People view things differently. We get new ideas and perspectives. That’s a good thing. Raging, smashing your head into walls, and threatening violence against yourself and others — not a good thing. So unless you’re doing those things, you’re probably okay. No brain surgery or psych ward needed.

Leave a Reply

