Part Two: From care to where? Left to pick up his own pieces

Who knew growing up is a long process of shame, blame, self-hate, etc. Who noticed me sober are those that have truly stood by my side. Whats to come over the next few years of my life may be a lot of hate and guilt but am willing to put a band aid over it and disappear into my own made up world where I feel accepted. You just carry on with your lives. I am living mine and this is my story that I work on chapter by chapter.

Excerpt from Memory Lost by Kali Rufus, August 2012

***

Kali Rufus is a poet, who has been documenting his fragile yet resilient life stanza by stanza.

On a day when he hasn’t yet injected his “bestest friend,” crystal meth, he speaks thoughtfully and lucidly about his writing and the inspiration it gives to himself and, hopefully, to other youth.

Read more:

Leave a Reply

